• July 6, 2022

Does Trample Go Through Indestructible?

Does trample go through indestructible? Gracias! Indestructible creatures still get assigned damage, so the rest can still trample through.

What kills indestructible in MTG?

A creature with indestructible can die as a result of anything that is not damage (Lightning Bolt) and does not explicitly use the word 'destroy' (Doom Blade). And of course, they can be exiled, returned to their owner's hand, or put back into their owner's library.

Does Deathtouch overrule indestructible?

Indestructible creatures also ignore deathtouch. Normally, a creature is destroyed if it takes damage from a creature with deathtouch. But since indestructible creatures can't be destroyed, they're immune.

Does prevent all damage stop trample?

Prevention effects can only prevent the trample damage that is assigned to a creature. There are many ways to prevent damage that would be dealt to or by a creature.

Does indestructible prevent damage?

Indestructible does not prevent damage, it prevents damage from causing a creature to be destroyed. That damage needs to be done for lifelink to happen, and in the case of wither or infect, still will kill an indestructible creature due to loss of toughness.


Related faq for Does Trample Go Through Indestructible?


Is trample damage noncombat damage?

702.19a Trample is a static ability that modifies the rules for assigning an attacking creature's combat damage. The ability has no effect when a creature with trample is blocking or is dealing noncombat damage.


Can you block indestructible creatures?

Indestructible creatures can be blocked. Indestructible is not an evasion ability. If an indestructible creature is blocked, it still takes damage. That damage won't destroy it though.


Can you target indestructible creatures?

Yes, Indestructible creatures are legal targets for spells/abilities that say "destroy target creature." The spell actually does resolve, but when it attempts to destroy the creature rule 700.4 prevents it from happening.


Does exile beat indestructible?

While Indestructible cards can't be killed by damage and ignore damage checks, their toughness outside of damage still needs to remain about zero for them to stay alive. Indestructibility does not stop cards from being: Exiled.


Does indestructible prevent sacrifice?

If you're asking can you REPEATEDLY sacrifice the same artifact without it leaving the battlefield, then no. Indestructible only means it can't be destroyed, by either effects that say "destroy" or by lethal damage.


Does indestructible prevent 0 toughness?

It doesn't matter how it go to 0 toughness. Damage does NOT reduce toughness. If a creature has damage marked on it equal to or greater than its toughness, it is destroyed. Indestructible creatures cannot be destroyed by any means, including via damage.


Does trample go through Planeswalkers?

Only creatures can block, and Planeswalkers aren't creatures. When you attack, you choose to attack you attack either your opponent or a planeswalker they control. There is no way for a creature to trample from a Planeswalker to the defending player, or vice versa.


How do I get rid of indestructible?

Indestructible permanents can still be put into their owner's graveyard by other means, such as by the "legend rule", by being sacrificed or (in the case of creatures) having zero or less toughness. They can also be removed from the battlefield by being bounced or exiled for example.


How does trample work with indestructible?

When an indestructible creature blocks a creature with trample, lethal damage still needs to be assigned to it before you can assign trample damage.


Do board wipes work on indestructible?

Most board wipes “destroy” creatures, so one way to protect your creatures (and permanents) is to buff them with the “indestructible”keyword.


Is the wanderer Elspeth?

The Wanderer is a purely white Mana-aligned female walker, as Elspeth has been in all her incarnations. The Wanderer's passive ability protects you and all your opponents, which was pretty much Elspeth shtick.


How does Protection interact with trample?

As it turns out (and possibly counterintuitively), trample does go through protection. The point is that the attacker must assign lethal damage to the defending creature, and then they are free to assign the rest to the player.


What is flying in Magic The Gathering?

Flying is an evergreen evasion ability that makes creatures without flying unable to block creatures with flying. It has been in Magic since the original Alpha set. It was the first mechanic that Richard Garfield designed for the game.


Is destroying a creature deal damage?

destroy effects do not deal damage. So the Molimo would be put in the graveyard.


Does destroy work on indestructible MTG?

Indestructible is a common keyword in MTG. Magic: The Gathering rule 702.12 states a permanent with Indestructible can't be destroyed and “such permanent aren't destroyed by lethal damage, and they ignore the state-based action that checks for lethal damage.”


Does destroy all creatures work on indestructible?

More videos on YouTube

Creatures with indestructible are impervious to any effects that normally destroy creatures, such as: Damage (including combat damage) Any effects that “destroy” a creature.


Does destroy count as damage?

Destroy doesn't mean that any damage is being dealt. As per the comp rules it quite literally just means that you move that/those creatures from the battlefield to the graveyard.


Does Damage reduce toughness MTG?

Yes. The damage stays marked on the creature until end of turn. If the game sees (as a state-based action) that the creature's current toughness is equal or less than the amount of damage marked on it, the creature is destroyed.


Can you make a Planeswalker indestructible?

Since Heroic Intervention does not prevent damage, making a planeswalker indestructible in this manner will often accomplish very little against creatures dealing damage to it.


Do tokens go to your graveyard?

A: Tokens go to the graveyard as regular creatures, and are removed as a "state-based effect" when a player gets priority again. They stay in the graveyard long enough to trigger abilities, like the one of Soulcatchers' Aerie, before they are removed.


Was this post helpful?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.