• September 26, 2022

How Do You Destroy An Indestructible Creature In Magic?

How do you destroy an indestructible creature in Magic? Another way to get rid of Indestructible creatures is to make your opponent sacrifice them with cards like Chittering Harvester. Repeatedly mutating this creature causes an opponent to sacrifice a creature each time, which is an excellent way to remove their Indestructible permanents.

What beats Deathtouch MTG?

Spells that reduce a creature's power to zero or turn it into a creature with zero power can be effective answers to deathtouch. Just be wary of any attempts your opponent might make to increase their power again! Creatures with deathtouch deal damage during the regular combat damage step.

How does indestructible work in magic?

Indestructible, a static ability, is defined in the rules as a permanent that “can't be destroyed.” Those permanents “aren't destroyed by lethal damage, and they ignore the state-based action that checks for lethal damage.”

Is Deathtouch only combat damage?

The rules say about deathtouch: The rule that causes creatures dealt damage by a source with deathtouch to be destroyed applies to any damage, not just combat damage.

Does Hexproof stop Deathtouch?

No it doesn't. Deathtouch on a creature just means that if that creature deals damage to another creature, be it combat or non-combat, that the creature dealt damage will be destroyed. The deathtouch ability doesn't target anything so hexproof will not save a creature dealt damage with deathtouch.


Related advise for How Do You Destroy An Indestructible Creature In Magic?


Does First Strike stop Deathtouch?

First Strike will win. The angel will deal lethal damage to the vampire in the first combat damage step. Since the vampire is not on the battlefield during the second combat damage step, it will not deal damage, so its deathtouch and lifelink will have no effect.


Can you trample over indestructible creature?

Gracias! Indestructible creatures still get assigned damage, so the rest can still trample through.


Does indestructible Trump Deathtouch?

Even when they battle creatures with deathtouch, creatures with indestructible come out on top. However, indestructible does have its limitations. If a creature's toughness is reduced to zero, it still dies, even if it has indestructible.


Does destroy all creatures work on Hexproof?

Does destroy all creatures work on Hexproof? Yes, cards with “destroy all …” don't target the permanents they affect, so Hexproof does not protect them from being destroyed. Generally speaking, if the word 'target' doesn't appear on the card, the spell or ability isn't targeting.


Does 0 damage trigger Deathtouch?

It doesn't work. A damage event of 0 damage doesn't count as dealing damage, and events that trigger off damage being dealt don't trigger off a 0 damage event. In the case of Deathtouch specifically, the CR is explicit in that "nonzero damage" dealt by a source with deathtouch is "lethal" for game rule purposes.


Can you regenerate from Deathtouch?

You can regenerate from Deathtouch by paying the regeneration cost. If a creature blocking or blocked by a creature with Deathtouch is dealt enough combat damage to destroy it, its controller does not have to pay regeneration costs twice to keep it alive.


Can Planeswalkers get Deathtouch?

Planeswalkers that are not also creatures have no interaction with Deathtouch. They just take damage and lose loyalty counters as normal. Planeswalkers are never treated as creatures, and they are never treated as players.


Do board wipes affect Hexproof?

Does hexproof protect from board-wiping cards like terminus? No, it does not. Hexproof prevents a creature from being targeted by spells or abilities that your opponents control.


Does protection from creatures stop Deathtouch?

As we discussed a few weeks ago, protection does several things, such as preventing all damage from any source it has protection from. That means that deathtouch will not apply, as damage that is prevented is not considered dealt.


Can I target my own creature with shroud?

As mentioned, Shroud does nothing in your scenario. However, if you replace Scion of the Ur-Dragon with something like Mother of Runes, she will not be able to target herself with her own ability since she would have shroud (as her ability targets, unlike Scion's).


Does shroud protect from Deathtouch?

Deathtouch does no such thing, and does not interact with shroud. Indeed, deathtouch is a static ability, and therefore cannot target.


Does anything stop Deathtouch?

Since the damage is prevented, deathtouch will do nothing. Deathtouch means that any nonzero amount of damage that creature deals is lethal, but in this case no damage is dealt at all.


Can you block with more than one creature in Magic?

Each creature can only block a single attacker, but the defending player may choose to block an attacking creature with more than one creature. Both players are given a chance to cast instants and activate abilities after blockers have been declared.


Was this post helpful?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.