• July 5, 2022

How Do You Get Rid Of Indestructible MTG?

How do you get rid of indestructible MTG? Indestructible permanents can still be put into their owner's graveyard by other means, such as by the "legend rule", by being sacrificed or (in the case of creatures) having zero or less toughness. They can also be removed from the battlefield by being bounced or exiled for example.

Does -/- kill indestructible?

There is nothing "magical" about -1/-1 counters that removes indestructibility, it is just that if the counters reduces the creature's toughness to 0 or less, the creature gets put into owners graveyard. Indestructible creatures can't be destroyed, but this isn't destruction.

Can spells kill indestructible MTG?

Yes, Indestructible creatures are legal targets for spells/abilities that say "destroy target creature." The spell actually does resolve, but when it attempts to destroy the creature rule 700.4 prevents it from happening.

Does X X Kill indestructible?

-X/-X effects actually do reduce toughness, and death by 0 toughness is not destruction so even an indestructible creatures go to the graveyard if their toughness reach 0.

Do negative counters kill creatures?

A creature with 0 or less toughness will be sent to the graveyard immediately, so yes, getting -3/-3 can kill a creature. Note that this is not technically being "destroyed", it is a different way of sending the creature to the graveyard. This matters for things like regeneration.


Related guide for How Do You Get Rid Of Indestructible MTG?


What is indestructible in Magic The Gathering?

Indestructible, a static ability, is defined in the rules as a permanent that “can't be destroyed.” Those permanents “aren't destroyed by lethal damage, and they ignore the state-based action that checks for lethal damage.”


Does Deathtouch kill Hexproof?

No it doesn't. Deathtouch on a creature just means that if that creature deals damage to another creature, be it combat or non-combat, that the creature dealt damage will be destroyed. The deathtouch ability doesn't target anything so hexproof will not save a creature dealt damage with deathtouch.


How do you get rid of Hexproof creatures?

(Like Celestial Flare) The key thing is that hexproof specifically prevents only targeting that creature. If it doesn't say "target creature" (Or "target permanent" or whatever) then it'll work. Also you can counter it with something like Essence Scatter or force a discard with something like Distress.


Can instants kill creatures?

You would destroy their creature, but they would not take damage because your creature was blocked.


Can enchantments kill creatures?

they are always enchantments, and they are always indestructible. You can never kill a god with "destroy target creature" due to indestructibility, but they can always be hit by "exile target enchantment". when they are attached to something as auras, bestow cards are not creatures.


Does languish kill creatures?

Languish doesn't destroy any creatures, and for all three creatures you mention, Languish will bring their toughness to 0 or less, sending them to the graveyard as a state-based action (C.R. 704.5f, 117.3b, 117.5) (which is not the same as destroying them, however, so that totem armor, regeneration, and indestructible


Do creatures with indestructible take damage?

Creatures with indestructible are impervious to any effects that normally destroy creatures, such as: Damage (including combat damage)


Does all dust destroy lands?

It causes colored permanents to be sacrificed, it does not destroy. Lands are normally colorless as color is determined by mana cost.


Was this post helpful?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.