• July 6, 2022

How Does Chain Of Smog Work MTG?

How does Chain of Smog work MTG? With Chain of Smog, any target player discards two, and then that player may choose to copy that card. Essentially, you choose yourself as the target, copy the spell, choose yourself again, rinse and repeat. This triggers any Magecraft ability infinitely.

Does Chain of Smog keep going?

Yes, Chain of Smog can be chained indefinitely between opponents, or one player can chain it on themselves indefinitely. Any copy of Chain of Smog does the same thing as the original. That includes that the targeted player may copy the spell and choose a new target player.

Is Chain of Smog legal in modern?

Add Chain of Smog to your collection.

Standard Not Legal
Historic Not Legal
Pioneer Not Legal
Modern Not Legal
Legacy Legal

Can you copy chain of smog with no cards in hand?

Thank you! They don't need cards in hand to be able to copy Chain of Smog. You can use it to discard all of your cards, yes, but beyond that there's no purpose to copying it endlessly.

How does storm work with Magecraft?

The Storm ability copies a spell for each spell cast before it in a turn. The Magecraft ability triggers off copied spells. For example, if you copy a Grapeshot ten times, you will get one Magecraft trigger for casting the spell. You will then get ten Magecraft triggers for copying the spell ten times.


Related advise for How Does Chain Of Smog Work MTG?


Can you copy chain of smog infinitely?

You can infinitely copy them on yourself, but it won't keep triggering Reservoir. The copies aren't cast, they are created as objects on the stack, thus only the original spell will trigger reservoir.


Is Isochron Scepter a cast?

Yes it will. You are casting an instant, so the Weird's ability will trigger. 2.


Does Magecraft go on the stack?

Magecraft will only trigger once during this process. The mechanic cares about the spells or copies going onto the stack. Even though these cards say, “copy the exiled card,” this won't trigger magecraft by itself. Only when casting the copy later on in the ability will magecraft trigger.


Does Magecraft trigger for each Storm copy?

Yes. The N Spell-Copies created by the Storm trigger will trigger Magecraft, because you are copying the Spell, N times.


Is Isochron Scepter banned in Commander?

I'm surprised central command at MTG did not see the flaw in this card's power. Isochron Scepter should be banned. This isn't really a rulings question, but yes, imprinting a Silence or a Counterspell onto an Isochron Scepter is totally legal.


How do you stop Isochron Scepter?

You can use something uncounterable, like Abrupt Decay or Krosan Grip. Bait him into using the Scepter with another spell, then kill it. Bait him into using the Scepter with a spell that would kill it, then resolve something else you need to resolve. Bounce or kill the Scepter in response to its Imprint trigger.


Does Isochron Scepter trigger storm?

Isochron Scepter has you cast the copied card which will indeed cause storm to trigger. : You may copy the exiled card. If you do, you may cast the copy without paying its mana cost.


Does Magecraft trigger twice?

Each magecraft ability has a different effect, although they all have the same trigger condition, whenever you cast or copy an instant or sorcery spell. If an effect creates multiple copies of an instant or sorcery spell, magecraft abilities trigger once for each copy created by the effect.


Where is Strixhaven located?

Strixhaven is a school of magic located on the Orrithia continent of the plane Arcavios.


Do copies trigger storm?

No. Storm is a casting trigger, so it only triggers during that zone transition. Copying a spell with storm, which is what the storm ability actually does to itself, will not trigger the ability. It can't be allowed to, really, else storm would spiral off into infinity and break the game.


What does Magecraft mean?

Magecraft (魔術, Majutsu?), or Thaumaturgy, is the artificial reenactment of Mystery, which is ordinarily possible only by inhuman beings. It is the ability to bring about what is possible through science with supernatural means; although the process is considered a miracle, the result is not.


Was this post helpful?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.