• August 10, 2022

How Does Redirect Work MTG?

How does redirect work MTG? The Planeswalker redirection rule was implemented in Lorwyn with the introduction of the first Planeswalker cards. The rule states that you cannot directly target a Planeswalker with damage dealing spells—instead, you must target a player and then redirect the damage from that player to a Planeswalker they control.

Can you redirect a creature?

Creature spells and the Invocation do not target anything. Using Redirect on them will do nothing of use. There's no target, so there's no target you can change. So your opponent's Invocation will resolve like normal and they'll still get the tokens.

Can you redirect an enchantment?

And yes, you may Redirect the enchantment as long as it's an Aura and it was cast. Duress targets an opponent. Duress' controller can't be his own opponent. Redirect lets you choose new targets for a spell, but you can't choose an illegal target.

Can you change targets MTG?

The targets can't be changed except by another spell or ability that explicitly says it can do so. 115.1a An instant or sorcery spell is targeted if its spell ability identifies something it will affect by using the phrase “target [something],” where the “something” is a phrase that describes an object and/or player.

Can you bolt bend equipment?

You cannot. Bolt Bend has targeting restrictions "of target spell or ability with a single target". Since you cannot fulfill that, it is not a legal target. A spell without a legal target cannot be cast.


Related faq for How Does Redirect Work MTG?


Can you redirect a counter spell?

Yes, you can. When you're changing the target of Counterspell with Redirect, Redirect is still a spell on the stack at that time and thus a legal target to choose for Counterspell. (Note that you can't choose Counterspell as a target for itself because a spell can never target itself.)


Can spellskite steal auras?

[Ruiling] Can Spellskite redirect opponents Enchantment - Auras to himself? (like Splinter Twin) As long as the spellskite is a legal target, you can.


What can spellskite redirect?

It can only redirect spells or abilities which can legally target it. However, it can target any spell or ability. There is nothing wrong with your opponent paying 2 life to try and change the target of your Go for the Throat, then fail to. It can only redirect spells or abilities which can legally target it.


Does spellskite work on auras?

Spellskite and Auras

An aura spell on the stack targets, so you can use Spellskite's ability on an aura like Splinter Twin to change the target of the Twin to your Spellskite, rather than your opponent's creature..


Can a card target itself MTG?

A spell or ability on the stack is an illegal target for itself. This only means the ability can't target itself, i.e. the ability itself. This is only relevant in rare cases; one example (for spells) would be that you can't change the target of a Counterspell on the stack to itself.


Can you target a commander?

Nope. Zada, Hedron Grinder must be on the battlefield to have her effect do anything and can only be targeted with things that target objects in whatever zone she is currently in.


Can you target your own creatures MTG?

You are not allowed to attack yourself or your allies, and you may not attack specific creatures. "Casting a spell" such as Shock means you select a valid target for it if necessary and pay for its cost. For example, Shock requires any one target creature (or player) as its target.


Can you bolt bend a Planeswalker ability?

2019-05-03: If a spell or ability targets multiple things, you can't target it with Bolt Bend, even if all but one of those targets have become illegal. 2019-05-03: If a spell or ability targets the same player or object multiple times, you can't target it with Bolt Bend.

Bolt Bend.

0.04 0.00
Non-foil Foil

Can you bolt bend a counterspell?

You can't target a spell with itself, you can't change the target of counterspell to counterspell; Bolt Bend has to retarget the counterspell to Bolt Bend.


How does ricochet trap work?

Ricochet Trap targets only the spell whose target will be changed. It doesn't directly affect the original target of that spell or the new target of that spell. If you cast Ricochet Trap targeting a spell that targets a spell on the stack (like Cancel does, for example), you can't change that spell's target to itself.


Can redirect target itself?

Yes. However, Redirect has only target: the spell. Redirect does not targets the spell's new targets, only the spell itself.


Can a spell on the stack target itself?

Rule 114.5 is "A spell or ability on the stack is an illegal target for itself." It can be redirected to target itsekf by other cards and abilities, but it can't be cast frommhand tsrgetting itself as it is not on the stack to target.


Can you fork a counterspell?

You pass as well (all players passed in succession) and Counterspell counters Fork. Fork is put into it's owner's graveyard as it is countered. Counterspell is put into it's owners graveyard as it resolves.


What if Spellskite has Hexproof?

So you are allowed to pay the costs (it's 'pay 2 life' cost might be handy combined with Transcendence, for instance) but because Spellskite has Hexproof he is an illegal target; Spellskite's ability would resolve - but have no effect - and the original target of the spell would remain targeted.


Can Spellskite stop Counterspells?

Spellskite is not a legal target for the counterspell, so when the ability resolves it will not change the target, it would remain the same.


Can you Spellskite a thoughtseize?

Spellskite is still not targeted. For cards where Spellskite is an illegal target, like Thoughtseize, the ability is countered on resolution and Spellskite is never targeted.


Can Spellskite redirect lava spike?

At this time you can redirect all those triggers to your Spellskite. If someone casts Lava Spike you can activate Spellskite in response targeting that spell, but Spellskite's ability will ultimately fizzle and the original target will remain unchanged.


Can Spellskite redirect illegal targets?

Spellskite has to be a legal target of the target spell or ability for its activated ability to work. You can activate spellskite and attempt to change the target of Bribery but it won't change the target.


Can Spellskite steal mutate?

Can spellskite change a mutate target to itself? Say I cast otrimi on a creature can my opponent spellskite it to their creature? Yes, it can change the target to itself, and no, they can't spellskite it onto their creature.. Mutate can only target creatures with the same owner as the mutate spell.


Can Spellskite steal equipment?

As awesome as Spellskite can be, he can never convince the game that he's your opponent's creature (unless, of course, your opponent takes control of him). The Equip keyword means this: “Attach this equipment to target creature you control.


Is Spellskite colorless?

You can't put Spellskite in your deck at all, because its color identity is blue.


Can Spellskite redirect equipment?

No. Spellskite doesn't change control of anything, but you can't even change the target of the equip ability because the equip ability can only target creatures that the equipment's controller controls.


Can Fork target itself?

If the spell being copied targets a spell on the stack, it is possible to target Fork itself since Fork is still on the stack when you pick the target(s) for the copy. Note that the copy's target will be illegal when it resolves.


Can deflecting SWAT make a counterspell target itself?

So, you cannot have Countspell target itself from Deflection. You can't do that.


Was this post helpful?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.