• August 9, 2022

How Many Creatures Can You Block With?

How many creatures can you block with? There is normally no limit on how many creatures can block each combat nor is there a limit on how many creatures can block a specific attacker. Some cards may change this by saying creatures can only be blocked by one creature, but the default is "no limit". 509.1a.

How does double blocking work?

If two or more creatures are blocking it, it assigns its combat damage to those creatures according to the damage assignment order announced for it. This may allow the blocked creature to divide its combat damage.

Does First Strike apply to multiple blockers?

You only need to assign lethal damage to the first blocker before assigning damage to the second blocker. You can assign 2 damage to the first creature and 2 damage to the second killing them both during the first strike combat damage step.

Do all blocking creatures deal damage?

510.1a Each attacking creature and each blocking creature assigns combat damage equal to its power. Creatures that would assign 0 or less damage this way don't assign combat damage at all. If exactly one creature is blocking it, it assigns all its combat damage to that creature.

Can a creature with vigilance block multiple creatures?

No. The creature with vigilance doesn't get tapped when you declare it as an attacker. But still your "Declare attackers" step is over and doesn't happen again until your next combat phase. Tapping is simple a side effect of attacking, not a cost, vigilance ignores that.


Related advise for How Many Creatures Can You Block With?


How does blocking with multiple creatures work MTG?

If multiple creatures block the same attacker, the attacking player orders those blockers to show which is first in line for that attacker's damage, which is second, and so on. If an attacker is blocked by multiple creatures, the attacking player can divide its combat damage among them.


Can you stack block in MTG?

(During the combat damage step, an attacking creature can't assign combat damage to a creature that's blocking it unless each creature ahead of that blocking creature in its order is assigned lethal damage.) This turn-based action doesn't use the stack.


Does double strike include first strike?

* Double strike isn't first strike. Effects that make a creature lose first strike won't make it lose double strike. * Creatures with double strike and creatures with first strike deal combat damage in the first combat damage step.


Can you block double strike with two creatures?

If a double strike blocker kills the creature it's blocking with first strike damage, it can't then block another creature again that same combat.


Does blocking work on first strike?

A creature that just has first strike only deals combat damage once. Yes, blocking creatures can benefit from first strike. (Wall of Razors wouldn't make much sense otherwise.) Creatures don't attack twice, even with double strike, though a creature with double strike will generally deal combat damage twice.


Does double strike deal double damage to a player?

It's generally going to be 4 damage, but remember that Double Strike isn't "Double Damage", it's "Damages Twice". Yes, that's going to be the same in most cases, but there are plenty of situations where it matters. For example, any effects that trigger upon the creature dealing combat damage will happen each time.


Do artifacts have summoning sickness?

Although all permanents experience Summoning Sickness, only Creatures, Artifact Creatures, Land Creatures, planeswalker creatures and Enchantment Creatures (or Land, Artifacts, planeswalkers or Enchantments that have become creatures) are affected by Summoning Sickness.


Can a blocking creature be sacrificed?

You can sacrifice it right before combat damage is dealt, but it will not deal combat damage to the creature it was blocking, nor will the blocked creature deal damage unless it has trample and vice versa.


Do blocking creatures tap?

While tapped creatures cannot be declared as blockers, blocking does not cause a creature to tap at all.


Can you block with summoning sickness?

Yes, you can block with a creature affected by summoning sickness. This is the Comprehensive Rule about "summoning sickness"; I emphasized the relevant parts in your case: 302.6.


What does Hexproof protect against?

Hexproof is an evergreen keyword ability that prevents a permanent or player from being the target of spells or abilities played by opponents.


Can cards with defender block flying?

Unless it also has flying or reach, a creature with defender cannot block flying creatures. This is because defender simply prevents a creature from attacking.


Who has priority during declare blockers?

Declare blockers: Blockers are declared, then the active player receives priority, passes priority to his/her opponent etc, etc. Step ends.


Who chooses blocking order MTG?

Once the defending player declares his or her blockers, for each attacking creature that is being blocked by multiple creatures, the attacking player chooses the blocking order*.


Can you block for another player in Commander?

Yes, there are multiplayer sections in the Comprehensive Rules. The Free-For-All section says nothing about allowing one player to block creatures that are attacking another players, so it is not officially allowed.


Can you respond to declaring blockers?

You can't respond to blockers being declared the way you could respond to a player casting an Instant, as declaring blockers is a turn-based action that doesn't use the stack.


What does defender mean in Magic The Gathering?

Defender is a static ability that makes a creature unable to attack. Creatures with Defender often have low power and high thoughness.


What is menace in Magic The Gathering?

Menace in Magic: The Gathering is an evasion ability that was introduced as a keyword in 2015 with the Magic Origins set. Creatures with Menace “can't be blocked except by two or more creatures,” according to MTG's comprehensive rules. The ruling around this ability comes during the declaration of blockers.


Does Deathtouch work on Planeswalkers?

Planeswalkers that are not also creatures have no interaction with Deathtouch. They just take damage and lose loyalty counters as normal. Planeswalkers are never treated as creatures, and they are never treated as players.


What if a creature has first strike and double strike?

If a creature has first strike they deal damage in the first strike damage step. If it has double strike it will deal damage in both the first strike and normal combat damage steps. Multiple instances of these abilities do not further change when the creature deals damage.


Does blocking double strike count?

Yes, double strike and first strike work while blocking. Effectively, there is a "first strike combat damage step" in which one set of double strike damage is dealt, and then a normal combat damage step, where all other combat damage is dealt.


Does a creature with double strike is blocked?

ThankS! Double Strike means that the creature deals both First-strike and regular combat damage. It doesn't matter whether it's blocked or not.


What happens when a creature with first strike blocks a creature with first strike?

What are the rules when 2 creatures with first strike enter combat? They both deal damage in the first strike phase. Just to elaborate on this a little, when any creature with first- or double strike is involved in combat, there will be an extra damage step before the normal one, where those creatures deal damage.


Is double strike better than first strike?

Double strike is a variation on first strike that allows creatures to deal damage during the first strike and regular combat steps. So, if a creature with double strike has two power, it'll deal two damage twice (four damage in total)!


Was this post helpful?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.