• July 7, 2022

Is Sacrificing A Creature The Same As Dying?

Is sacrificing a creature the same as dying? While a creature being sacrificed isn't the same as a creature dying, the result of sacrificing a creature normally results in that creature dying. This can change, however, if effects like Rest in Peace prevent them from ever going to a graveyard, though.

What counts as dying in MTG?

A creature or planeswalker “dies” if it is put into a graveyard from the battlefield. See rule 700.4. 700.4. The term dies means “is put into a graveyard from the battlefield.”

Can you sacrifice a dying creature?

Nope. It needs to be the cost or the effect of something.

What happens when you sacrifice a creature MTG?

Sacrificing or saccing is purposely or forcefully removing a permanent from play. This can be due to an effect on the card itself, the effect of another permanent already in play, coming into or leaving play or a spell such as an instant or sorcery. A sacrificed permanent cannot be regenerated.

Do tokens trigger dies triggers?

Unfortunately, no, it doesn't die. But, this has an interesting implication that a token can die and is temporarily in the graveyard, thus satisfying death triggers.

Related faq for Is Sacrificing A Creature The Same As Dying?

Can you sacrifice a creature in response to sacrifice?

No, you can't lock in that creature for sacrifice. If you do respond to Eldrazi Monument and sacrifice a creature, it just means that that particular creature won't exist when you are told by Eldrazi Monument to "sacrifice a creature".

Can you block and sacrifice MTG?

You can block, and then still in the declare blockers step, sacrifice it. The attacker will remain blocked and won't assign combat damage to the player or planeswalker it's attacking unless it has trample or a similar ability. The creature you sacrificed won't be there to deal combat damage either though.

Is sacrifice an instant?

Sacrificing has no special rules. If it is a cost for an activated ability, it works the same way as any other cost for an activated ability. You can activate it at any time that you have priority, and the actual sacrifice part happens immediately, when costs are paid.

Can I sacrifice a creature MTG?

To sacrifice a permanent, you move it from the battlefield to your graveyard. You can't regenerate it or save it in any way. You can sacrifice only your own permanents. To choose one of your permanents on the battlefield and put it into its owner's graveyard.

Can you sacrifice for no reason MTG?

You can't spontaneously sacrifice a permanent. Even if you have a permanent with an ability of the form "whenever a creature dies" or "whenever a creature is sacrificed", you need to find some means of sacrificing it. There's no rule forbidding it; there's simply no rule allowing it.

Is Sacrifice a creature an activated ability?

, Sacrifice a creature: Target player discards a card. Activate only as a sorcery. symbol, which means it can be activated even if it has summoning sickness.

Is sacrifice a triggered ability MTG?

A sacrifice, that pays for one ability will not pay for another. An activated ability, that has a sacrifice as a cost, will trigger any triggered abilities that look for the event of a creature dying or being sacrificed.

Does dying count as leaving the battlefield?

When a token dies, it leaves the battlefield and enters the graveyard. Dying means going to the graveyard. Then once it is in the graveyard, it ceases to exist as a state based action.

Can you sacrifice a creature from your hand?

You can't sacrifice from your hand, can you? You can only sacrifice something that is on the battlefield. The rules definition of "sacrifice" is to take a permanent and put it into its owner's graveyard, as an action that only that permanent's controller can do.

Does exile count as destruction?

Exile and the Graveyard are two different zones in magic. "Destroy" puts a card into the graveyard, and "Exile" puts it in the exile zone. Some cards can retrieve things from your graveyard, like Eternal Witness.

Do tokens trigger Syr Konrad?

The first condition allows the effect to trigger off of all creature deaths including tokens. The second condition allow for the effect to trigger off of mill and discard effects.

Do tokens enter the battlefield?

Yes, the enter-the-battlefield ability will trigger. 701.6a To create one or more tokens with certain characteristics, put the specified number of tokens with the specified characteristics onto the battlefield. When a token is created, it enters the battlefield.

Can you stack totem armor?

If a permanent you control is enchanted with multiple Auras that have totem armor, and the enchanted permanent would be destroyed, one of those Auras is destroyed instead -- but only one of them.

Is bestow an activated ability?

Bestow is a keyword ability introduced in Theros, where it was connected to the god theme of the set. It allows one to cast certain enchantment creatures as Auras, granting (or "bestowing") upon the enchanted creature their power, toughness, and abilities.


Keyword Ability
Introduced Theros
Last Used Commander 2018

Do tokens leave the battlefield?

Tokens disappear whenever they leave the battlefield. The relevant rules are: 110.5f A token that's phased out, or that's in a zone other than the battlefield, ceases to exist. This is a state-based action; see rule 704.

Do token creatures return to hand?

Token creatures will go to the hand for a brief time while the spell or ability is resolving - then they cease to exist when state-based actions are checked since they're no longer on the battlefield. A token that's bounced back to its owner's hand won't really be able to do anything before it ceases to exist.

What happens if you bounce a creature token?

EDIT: question answered, and for others wondering about it, the short answer is "It vanishes", and longer answer seems to be: "Tokens cannot exist anywhere else other than the Battlefield, so if they are moved to any other area of the game they go *poof\*."

Was this post helpful?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.