• October 5, 2022

What Are The Development Cards In Catan?

What are the development cards in Catan? What are development cards? Development cards are a resource in Catan that can be paid for during a player's turn. On their turn a development card can be bought from the supply for one wool (sheep), one grain, and one ore. This makes them relatively cheap to buy, and can be a very cheap way of getting points.

When can you use development cards Catan?

You may only play 1 development card during your turn— either 1 knight card or 1 progress card. You can play the card at any time, even before you roll the dice.

How many development cards can you play per turn in Catan?

You may play only one Development Card per turn, but not during the same turn you bought it.

Are development cards worth it Catan?

Each development card (which costs three resources) is worth about one victory point.

Can you buy a development card before you roll?

Yes, you absolutely can play a development card before you roll the dice.


Related faq for What Are The Development Cards In Catan?


How many development cards are there?

There are 25 development cards in the game, they are shuffled at the start of the game. When you buy a development card from the bank, it is held secret in your hand. Other players only learn how many development cards you have, not the types of those cards.


When should you play a development card?

You can play the [development] card at any time, even before you roll the dice. You may not, however, play a card that you bought during the same turn.


What happens if you run out of development cards in Catan?

For dev cards, you simply can't buy them once they run out (happened once in a game I played). For resource cards, if there aren't enough for everybody after a specific roll, then nobody gets any (has happened in a few of my games).


Does playing a development card end your turn?

No. The only time more than one development card may be flipped by the same player on their turn is if one of those cards would be the players final point to win the game.


Can you play two knights in one turn Catan?

No, you can play only 1 action card per turn. However in the expansion Cities and Knights you can play as many as you can. Quick redaction: You may only play 1 development card per turn unless you are playing victory point cards.


Can you win Catan with a development card?

You win if you have the points on your turn first, even if you or no-one else notices.


Can you play a development card and build in the same turn?

But you can only play a single Development card per turn (VP's are never played, they are merely 'shown') and you can never play a card in the same turn it was acquired.


What percentage of development cards are knights?

Know the odds

Your chance of drawing a particular type of card is as follows, in 36-card combined Basic/5-6 Player Expansion set (this is also the same as the first or second edition Mayfair Basic deck): Knight: 56%


Are development cards good?

Road Building isn't much good if your primary concern is development cards, either. It gives roads worth 4 resources, at a cost of 3 resources, and if you aren't looking to expand on the board, roads aren't much use. But of these cards is very good, but they require a balanced strategy to realise their potential.


What if you run out of roads in Catan?

As soon as you upgrade one settlement to a city, the settlement returns to your supply. The same goes for roads and cities, they too run out. As such, the longest possible road has length 15 (or 30 if you include ships from the Seafarers expansion).


Can you steal Development cards in Catan?

Alex Kevern. And just to clarify, Development cards cannot be stolen by other players either. They are meant to be face down in front of you and separate from your hand, presumably to clear up those two issues.


Can you have 5 cities in Catan?

You have to get those extra points from a settlement, getting longest road, largest army, victory points via development cards, etc. It's always a pain, but we figure that if there's no fifth city piece, you cannot have a fifth city.


How many development cards are in the deck?

The base game comes with 25 Development Cards (14 Knight/Soldier Cards, 6 Progress Cards, 5 Victory Point Cards) and 19 of each resource.


How many VP are in a development card?

The third is from Development Cards. There are 5 victory point cards in the Development Card deck that may be drawn when you build a development card. Despite their different names they all give 1 victory point.


How many development cards can you have in your hand?

Is this a thing? It's only a thing when you include the Cities and Knights expansion, when you can never end anyone's turn with more than 4 progress cards in your hand. In base game, hoard away on the dev cards. As an aside, opponents usually underestimate those with many unused dev cards.


Are you supposed to hide your cards in Catan?

Victory Point Development cards may be kept secret or played. There is really no reason to play them, however, until you have enough points to win. These cards give you secret victory points that you can hide from your opponents until you have enough points to win.


Do Settlements break longest road?

You are correct.

Your own cities do not affect your status towards the "Longest Road" You can view the official rules here, from pg. 9 (emphasis is mine). You can break an opponent's road by building a settlement on an open intersection along his road!


Do you reshuffle development cards in Catan?

Yes, it gets reshuffled. In fact, it says so in the rules.


Can you build twice Catan?

The rules state that you cannot build roads consecutively on the same turn regularly. If you choose to build more than one road they must be built on separate segments, or on different sides of the same segment.


Can you trade and build same turn Catan?

After rolling for resource production, you can trade and build in any order. Naturally you can trade, build, trade again and build again. You can even use a harbor on the same turn you build a settlement there.


What happens when you roll a 7 in Catan?

When a player rolls 7, any player with eight or more cards must discard half of their Resource Cards. Players then roll to win the pile. In order to participate in the roll-off, a player must place an additional Resource Card into the pile, even if they were forced to discard into the pile.


Can you play a knight after you roll?

Once the dice are rolled for resources that process must be completed. The knight could be played before, as you mentioned, or after but not in the middle of that process.


Was this post helpful?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.